Continuing incorrect data

Hope you are having a great week so far.

Homework for grown ups

This week I've been spending a fair amount of time on CPD.  CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development and my professional body, the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment, gives me an annual target of 35 hours. 

Although this is less than three hours per month, there have been years when I've had to do a lot of catching up before the end of the CPD year.

To avoid this, I now have a monthly task in my calendar to review my CPD.  First I look back over the month and see what I have done, and add it to my log.  If I haven't done anything, I can then do some reading or find something relevant online.

Tip - The Protege effect states that the best way to learn is to teach.  In short, you can only really tell if you understand a subject well by explaining it to someone else.  The act of preparing your explanation will force you to clarify your thinking, and the questions that the audience raises will likely do the same.

Better still, many CPD schemes allow you to count the preparation and research time as well as the actual presentation.

  • If you need to earn some CPD hours, then not only do you have my webinars (details below) but I can also provide training to individuals or groups.  Hit reply to ask me more.

LinkedIn post of the week

In this LinkedIn post I considered a thought experiment about whether it's worth fixing incorrect data.  The follow up piece will be coming this week, but take a look and add your comments.

I hope the dog is okay.  I found it on Twitter.

Cyber week shopping tips

Our next session is online at 1230 GMT on Wednesday, 7 December and is about Procurement, with expert Daniel Abda, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply, and designer of the Procurement Organisation for the London 2012 Olympics.

It will be great for anyone that's interested in finding and bringing in a new tool or solution to their business.  We'll be talking about

  • How you can go about finding the right solution for your organisation

  • If you have a procurement team in house, how to work with them effectively to avoid nasty surprises

  • If you don't have your own procurement experts, what you should think about when talking to potential suppliers

Register here or, if the session isn't for you, let me know in the feedback form

Corporate announcement

I'm excited to announce that Datazed Associates is now a channel partner of Pyramid Analytics.  I've been impressed by Pyramid, which I find to be a really smart tool for moving on from basic analytics to Decision Intelligence. 

After all, when your data is effectively governed and of sufficient quality, you still need to use it to make good decisions, otherwise what was the point?

Have a wonderful week,

Charles

Join the conversation

or to participate.