All progress depends on the unreasonable person

Gloves off

One week to go!

dataZED Get Together on 6 September with Alex Plenty, CDO at Lloyd's of London, sponsored by Pyramid Analytics. We’ll be looking at how you can manage your Data Governance and Data Quality roles in the oncoming wave of AI.

Alex is an insightful and outspoken speaker and worth coming to hear from.

Wednesday 6 September in London EC3 from 4pm to 5pm, with drinks nearby afterwards.

Click here to sign up

A different approach

So I did take a break from writing (and mostly from posting) over the holidays, but this had a benefit of creating some thinking time.

And you, my loyal readers, are the first to find out about it.

The premise is this. For the ten years plus that I’ve been doing Data Governance, Data Quality and Master Data Management, I have focused on pragmatic, value adding activities that are there to help the organisation by increasing revenue, reducing costs, or mitigating risks.

I’m not going to say that everyone felt that - other teams may take the credit for the revenue growth or cost reductions; no one really likes doing the actions which are necessary to mitigate risk - but it was the over-riding focus.

What this leads to is a very nuanced and specific offering which is perfect for a small group of people and organisations. If you know that you want to improve your data, but can’t (or don’t want to) do it in house, then dataZED can give you the support and insight that you need.

We own a small niche but for much of the world we are irrelevant.

On the other hand…

Everyone has a view on data.

Everyone knows when they see bad data, or data which is used badly.

Everyone wants to fight it.

The details of how and what will vary, but everyone wants to fight bad data.

So I’m launching a campaign with a five point pledge to #FightBadData

  • Verify Before Trust

    Before making decisions based on data, I pledge to always verify its source, validity, and timeliness to ensure it's credible and relevant.

 

  • Stay Informed

    I will educate myself about best practices in data quality and data management.

  • Promote Transparency

    I pledge to always be transparent about the origin of my data, its collection methods, and any modifications, ensuring anyone who accesses it understands its context and limitations.

  • Speak Up

    If I encounter bad data, misleading visualizations, or misrepresentations, I commit to speaking up and challenging it, advocating for clarity, accuracy, and reliability.

  • Empower Others

    I commit to sharing my knowledge and resources with peers, colleagues, and my community, ensuring we're all equipped to fight bad data together.


and of course, we need a brand and a website…





As I said earlier, you’re the first to see this, and I’d love to get your thoughts.

Will you take the pledge?

Check out FightBadData.com and have a wonderful week,
Charles

Don’t forget!

  1. dataZED Get Together on 6 September with Alex Plenty, CDO at Lloyd's of London. Click here to sign up

  2. dataZED of Data Events calendar. Share an event and View the calendar

  3. dataZED Fantasy Premier League, raising funds for Data and Tech Aid. Read more here and Register here.

You’ll find a tagged, searchable website of these newsletters at datazed.beehiiv.com, where you can also subscribe to get them sent straight to your inbox.

Join the conversation

or to participate.