Get out there and talk to people!

Meeting, but not meetings

There were two interesting conferences on my radar this week, and while the great and good of the data world were at the CDAO UK Conference, I was a few doors down the road at TINtech London Market.

Choosing between a topic-based event (data at CDAO) and a sector-based one (insurance at TINtech) is often a dilemma. For me, I prefer to talk about data to insurance people, than insurance to data people!

Whilst the presentations and discussions groups were insightful and educational, the highlight for me was the chatting between sessions. This included:

  • Ex-colleagues from my days in a perm role.

  • Former clients, and other people I met when working at those clients.

  • Fellow consultants whom I'd worked alongside.

  • Representatives of vendors, some of whom are still at the same organisations as when I met them!

  • LinkedIn connections, seen for the first time in real life; and

  • One former boss!

As you'd expect, the conversations varied, from general catch ups, through discussions of ongoing work, and even possibilities of future collaborations.

We all know how important relationships are when trying to deliver effective data governance, and my experience at TINtech reminded me that it's not just about keeping up with your regular set of Data Owners and Data Stewards, but also all the other people what you meet along the way.

Not just those you talk to in meetings, but those you end up meeting.

New to the Datazed of Data Governance, or was it forwarded to you?

See and search all my previous emails here. You can also subscribe here if you didn't get this one directly.

Come and meet me - in person or online

  • Insurance Data Governance & Data Quality Get Together - Data Dictionaries, Data Directories and Business Glossaries

    • Thursday 23 February, In Person (London EC3).

    • Practitioners should register here and vendors interested in sponsorship should hit reply and email me.

  • Data and the CRO - an interactive discussion with some Chief Risk Officers to discuss the interactions between data teams and risk teams.

    • Thursday 16 March (revised date, provisional) - Online

    • Open to all - register here. Sponsorship opportunities available.

  • Reduce, Reuse, Recycle - What to do When Data Governance Has Been Binned

Are there any other events that you think I should attend or be speaking at? Let me know!

The Datazed of Data Governance training course

There are plenty of courses out there that will teach you about Data Governance, but they generally focus on theory, and some will help you with implementation skills.

Similarly, there are some one or two day courses out there which give you lots of information, then you are back at work and buried in the day job.

What I want to do is to train and advise you over several weeks. We'll go all the way from what you do when you start in the role, through to understanding your aims and objectives; delivering them; and then looking how you can develop your function/team and ultimately advance personally and professionally.

Of course we'll also cover the Data Governance theory as well.

I want to do this across a series (probably eight) sessions online, with interactive discussion. For the ones you can't make, recordings will be available.

Finally, there'll be a group set up for each cohort to connect during and beyond the course.

Interested? Click below to join the priority list.

Have a wonderful week,Charles

Join the conversation

or to participate.